Blog Posts

11 January

Platberg Classic 2022

Platberg Classic 2022 will be from Friday 18 until Sunday 20 March 2022.

View the image below for more details as well as the banking details:

Banking Details:


FNB – 230533

REK NO: 52410018652

Verwysing: Naam van Speler


Read More

2021 Fezile Dabi Open

Congratulations to the following players at the 2021 Fezile Dabi Open held at Vaal de Grace.

Fezile Dabi Open (more…)

Read More

Xhariep Ope wenners

Stefan Griesel Wenner en Mnr. Gerhard Landman (Vrystaat Gholf Unie)

xhariep-ope-2021 (more…)

Read More

Wenners: Vrystaat Geslote Toernooi
Bethlehem Gholfkub 2021

Name van wenners Vrystaat Geslote Toernooi Bethlehem Gholfkub 2021.

Photo-of-winners (more…)

Read More
19 January

FS Ope Uitslae na rondte 4

Van links na regs: Dawid Opperman (Wenner met rondtes van 68, 69, 72 en 70 na n uitspeel teen Christiaan Maas) Butch Lombard (President  Vrystaat Gholf Unie)

View Round 4 Results

Read More

Message from the President of the
Free State Golf Union

JULY 2020

Golf is back, and all our Clubs are open….

A big thank you to GolfRSA, the PGA of SA and the Sunshine Tour that has made this all possible with their relentless and selfish efforts that paid off and opened golf. It is truly very exciting times that we live in, some say also a little bit scary but we all know that we will return to normal times. (more…)

Read More


APRIL 2020

The world, and South Africa, is facing difficult and unprecedented times. In the midst of all this, I hope you are safe and in good health.

It is very difficult to make any predictions, but I firmly believe that we will get thru this and be stronger at the end of this. All our Clubs are closed and most of our tournaments were cancelled due to COVID-19, but golf in the Free State and in South Africa will not stop and we need to protect this beautiful game that we all love. (more…)

Read More
22 January

Winner of Free State Open 2020

Winner of Free State Open 2020

From left to right: Robert Lance (Heron Banks) Casey Jarvis (Winner 67,65, 70, 64 = 266) Nicky Nel ( President Free State Golf Union)

Read More
Winners Free State Senior Open
13 January

Winners Free State Senior Open

Winners of Free State Senior Open 11th and 12th January 2020 Parys Golf Club.

From left to right: Greg Gleeson (Gross runner up 146 on c/o), Pieter Cooper (Free State Senior Champion 2020 – won play off 146),Craig Kamps Gross 3rd Place after c/o 146), Mel Labuschagne ( Gross Fourth Place 148), Roedu du Plessis ( Gross 5th Place 148 on c/o), Henry Trevena (Winner Super Seniors 147), Schalk Naude (Super Seniors 3rd 149), Christo Reyneke (Runner Up Super Seniors 148)

Butch Lombard – Vice-president Free State Golf Union.

Read More